Getting a DUI in New Hampshire may occur in a situation when motorists are driving their motor vehicles under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DUI offenses are considered the most serious traffic violations since driving while intoxicated (DWI) can lead to property damage and loss of life.
According to NH DUI laws, motorists who are caught driving under the influence (DUI) will get severe penalties such as a driver’s license suspension or revocation, high reinstatement fees and added violations to their driving records. In order to minimize DUI charges, drivers are encouraged to hire a defense attorney who specialized in DUI and DWI to help them win their case. Find out more information on New Hampshire DUI by reading the sections below.
DUI Citations and Convictions in New Hampshire
Drivers receive DWI tickets in New Hampshire when they break the driving laws which determine the penalties for committing intoxicated driving violations. Drivers are charged with DUI if they are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or if they refuse to submit to a blood alcohol content (BAC) test when requested by a police officer.
Moreover, a conviction may bring drivers different consequences which vary based on whether the violation is considered as a misdemeanor or a felony. Offenders will also need to resolve the DWI citation received at the time of the arrest.
Drivers who are asking themselves “Is DUI a criminal offense or not?” must be aware that each violation which endangers public safety may be considered as a criminal offense.
Motorists who are convicted of a DUI or DWI violation will have to meet certain requirements and submit a list of documents in order to reinstate their driving privileges.
New Hampshire Under the Influence Violations and Penalties
Disobeying New Hampshire DUI laws or driving with a high blood alcohol content (BAC) level in your system will cause severe charges to be listed on a driving record. Drivers may face an arrest when pulled over and found driving intoxicated by a law enforcement official. Each DUI or DWI offense is penalized with harsh consequences, explained below in further detail.
First DUI Offense
Committing a DWI offense in New Hampshire for the first time may suspend or revoke a driver’s driving privileges for a period from 90 days to 2 years. In addition, drivers charged with a DWI for disobeying the Implied Consent Law for failing or refusing to submit to a BAC test will have their driving privileges revoked for a period of 6 months.
Second DUI Offense
A second DWI or DUI will bring you a driver’s license suspension or revocation for a period from 90 days to two years. Committing a DWI or DUI offense for refusing or failing a BAC test will revoke your driving privileges for two years if your previous conviction was in the last 10 years.
Drinking and Driving in New Hampshire
Impaired driving in New Hampshire does not refer only to driving under the influence of alcohol, but also to being intoxicated with drugs. Both alcohol and drugs have a negative effect on a driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle. Therefore, intoxicated driving may cause drivers to commit a vehicular manslaughter.
Motorists will be charged with DUI if they cause a fatality or bodily injury to others while driving under the influence. Such criminal charges result in a DWI arrest in New Hampshire, for which drivers often require the assistance of a defense attorney.
New Hampshire DUI Attorneys
Hiring a DUI defense attorney is highly recommended for drivers who have charges added to their records. Help is needed when drivers are arrested for a DUI in order to minimize the penalties incurred.
Moreover, drivers who are wondering how to beat a DUI case are encouraged to conduct background checks on potential attorneys. That way, they will be able to choose the best DUI lawyer in New Hampshire who will help them win a case in court or have penalties minimized.
Open Container Laws in New Hampshire
Drivers must adhere to New Hampshire DUI laws when operating a vehicle on public roads in order to avoid charges being written on their driving records. The open container law, for instance, determines the consequences that drivers will face for transporting alcoholic beverages while driving their motor vehicles.
However, drivers are able to transport alcoholic beverages in the trunks of their vehicles or in a compartment that is not reachable to the driver.
Committing a first DUI offense by breaking the open container law will suspend your driving privileges for a period of 60 days, while a second offense will result in a 1-year suspension.
Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in New Hampshire
Drivers with New Hampshire DUI suspended licenses must satisfy certain requirements as part of the reinstatement procedure. The set of requirements may require drivers to collect the needed documentation, to file an SR-22 car insurance and to pay the applicable reinstatement fees.
Moreover, drivers charged with DUI in New Hampshire may also be required to complete a specialized traffic school course for DUI offenders which is known as an alcohol treatment program. After satisfying the requirements, participants will receive a Confirmation of Restoration/Rescind Notice via mail with verification that the license restoration process has been completed.
New Hampshire Alcohol Awareness Classes
Drivers who face charges of DUI will be required to enroll in an Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) and complete it in order to reinstate their driving privileges. The IDCMP program offers special DUI classes to drivers who have been caught driving impaired by alcohol or other drugs.
When charged with DUI, drivers who enroll in the IDCMP program will be required to go through a screening and evaluation process and to follow the required steps, which may vary based on the number of offenses they have committed in the past.
SR-22 Insurance in New Hampshire
Drivers who face charges of drunk driving may be required to file a DUI insurance which is known as SR-22 insurance. The SR-22 filing is a liability statement that serves as proof that the driver is in compliance with state laws regarding car insurance.
A proof of auto insurance for DUI offenders is required when drivers are convicted of a DUI. A first DUI violation will require drivers to file an SR-22 insurance for a minimum of 3 years, while every subsequent offense will require insurance for a longer period of time.
New Hampshire Laws That Pertain to DUI/DWI
New Hampshire DUI laws determine the legal regulations that drivers must obey while operating motor vehicles on public roads. For instance, the Implied Consent Law requires drivers to submit to a BAC test whenever they are requested to do so by a police officer.
Drivers will face severe penalties for refusing to submit to a BAC test. Additionally, this law limits the amount of alcohol that drivers are allowed to have in their blood. Motorists will be charged with DUI in New Hampshire if their BAC test results are higher than 0.08 percent, or 0.02 percent for minor drivers.
New Hampshire Hardship License
A DUI drivers license suspension prohibits drivers from operating motor vehicles. However, drivers with DUI charges in NH may be eligible for a hardship license while waiting for their suspension periods to be completed. In order to apply for a hardship license, drivers must prove a need to drive to work, job training, alcohol or drug treatment, school or to receive medical treatment.
Last updated on Wednesday, March 4 2020.